SOUTH SALEM, N.Y. -- St. John’s Episcopal Parish invites the community to join in celebrating the church’s 255th anniversary on Sunday, June 22, at 9:30 a.m.
The church is at 82 Spring St. in South Salem.
A special historically accurate Holy Communion service will be performed as it would have been in 1759, the year of the parish’s founding.
The Rev. Joseph Campo, the rector, will be using the 1662 Book of Common Prayer for the service and welcoming Lewisboro Town Supervisor Peter Parsons to read the Epistle.
Br. Richard Lorino, BSG, Parish Organist and Choir Master, has selected hymns and musical accompaniment appropriate to the period.
“From the pre-revolutionary church at Craft’s Corners to the familiar little stone church on Spring Street (with its charming companion, St. Paul’s Chapel in Vista), the congregation has endured and offered sanctuary to others,” Lewisboro Town Historian Maureen Koehl has said.
A celebratory BBQ will be held following the service for all attendees to enjoy.
St. John’s Episcopal Parish, a part of the Lewisboro community since 1759, holds services Saturdays at 5 p.m. at St. Paul’s Chapel in Vista and Sundays at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s Church in South Salem.
- 1 National Weather Service: North Salem's Winter Won't Be So Bad
- 2 Several Westchester Towns Ranked Among New York's Safest To Live In
- 3 Patient At Danbury Hospital Undergoing Testing For Enterovirus
- 4 Somers Businessman Charged With Loan, Tax Fraud
- 5 Mom Recounts Finding Missing Teen From Green Chimneys